## LETTER TO SENATOR JOHN THUNE FROM SOUTH DAKOTA AVIATION BUSINESSES

September 8, 2015

The Honorable John Thune 511 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

## Dear Senator Thune:

As members of the South Dakota general aviation business community, we are strongly opposed to using the upcoming FAA reauthorization legislation to create a user-fee funded air traffic control corporation. Such a corporation, controlled by a board of industry insiders, will place our businesses and our employees in constant peril from efforts by major users of the ATC system to cost shift and deny general aviation access to airspace and critical airport development funds. It will undermine the national air transportation system by denying rural America access to cutting-edge technology and hinder South Dakota's economic development.

While we strongly agree with you that maintaining the status quo risks our nation's supremacy in aviation, we believe that radical changes to the FAA's management structure and funding poses equal risks – to the safe and stable nature of the world's best air traffic control system and America's vibrant general aviation community.

The upcoming FAA reauthorization presents many opportunities to improve operations at the FAA and make it easier for aviation businesses to interact with the agency. However, separating air traffic control from the agency's regulatory functions risks undermining aviation safety, jobs, and investment for all South Dakotans.

Thank you for your consideration.

Mark Caven Aberdeen Flying Service Aberdeen Regional Airport

Kevin Braun Quest Aviation Aberdeen Regional Airport Darryl Shook Hangar 9, Inc. Aberdeen Regional Airport

Jim Anderson Belle Fourche Aero Belle Fourche Municipal Airport Danny Hofer Skyways Ltd. Huron Regional Airport

Jordan Hall Legacy Aviation LLC Marv-Skie Lincoln Airport

Todd Shannon Wright Brothers Aviation Mitchell Municipal Airport

Tyler Hearnen Ohae Air Mobridge Municipal Airport

Pete Girtz Acting Airport Executive Director Rapid City Regional Airport Jim Peitz Mustang Aviation Pierre Regional Airport

Les Mittleider Rapid Fuel, LLC Rapid City Regional Airport

Donald Rydstrom Westjet Air Center Inc. Rapid City Regional Airport

Joel Cherry Landmark Aviation Sioux Falls Regional Airport

Jerry Burnham C&B Aviation Sturgis Municipal Airport

David Howard Howard Aviation, L.L.C. Winner Regional Airport